The pie story …

This is going to be a sob story of sorts; one of those stories you know , when you decide to make a pie for the first time, when at first it’s all cheer and laughter as you pull out a perfectly fluted golden brown pie crust from the oven. Armed with a spatula in one hand and a whisk in the other, you struggle to make the filling and the meringue simultaneously, getting unnerved time and again. But you finally manage to assemble the pie and top it with a spoon sculpted meringue. You then ooh and aah through the oven door as the angelic white meringue steadily changes into an enticing golden brown. You breathe a sigh of relief as your pie story nears a happy ending. No need to cross your fingers , it is all perfect..or so you think! The story I wish ended this way. I wish all pie stories were fairy tales,

To cut the long story short..well..I made a lemon meringue pie yesterday. Oh It was beautiful I tell you..so beautiful I could just look at it all day long. But as they say real beauty is skin deep and so real pie should taste as good as it looks.  But it wasnt to be. The taste testing had me rushing to the bathroom to get the contents of my mouth into the basin and then frantically rinsing it with Listerine. It tasted that bad! What a bummer 😦

I wont be sharing the recipe or the source because I wouldn’t ever want to associate something so reliable with my kind of experience. I had a hunch which was proven right by a quick google search; something to do with cheap stainless steel I bought from a certain best deal supermarket. Rule of thumb: When dealing with acidic ingredients in your recipe, make sure you use completely unreactive cookware. You may end up making a yucky metallic tasting lemon filling if you don’t.

The silver lining to this dark cloud were the pie crust and the meringue.  I hope to make happy pie stories in the future, lemon included. Till then I’ll try to coax my taste buds out of their trauma with some yummy red velvet cupcakes.

2 comments

  1. Wouldn’t have guessed about the taste if you had not mentioned it! It looks so pretty and delicious. I love pies but I suck at making them.
    And I love the way you write, such a pleasure to read 🙂


Leave a Reply

