I made scones !

I am not sure if the title deserves an exclamation mark but it’s just that I made these scones for the first time, the first thing in the morning, the time of the day when I’m the most disoriented. Now that’s what I call an achievement! They turned out pretty well for their test run in my kitchen. Since they are easy to make and also eggless I was more than happy to serve them for our Saturday brunch with 2 steaming cups of coffee. My husband has recently taken a strong liking for raspberry preserve and so it was funny to see the ‘aloo parantha with lotsa butter’ lover turn into a jam slathering, scone eating, coffee drinking sweet guy.

Scones are also this month’s Daring Bakers Challenge. I’ll be making another batch with a few variations and submitting them for the same.

Plain Scones:

Adapted from the Daring bakers challenge recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup cold milk
  • 4 tbsp cold unsalted butter cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 tsp salt (I skipped the salt as I used salted butter)
  • Cream to brush the scone tops

Method:

Preheat the oven to 190º C. Sift the flour in a bowl. Add the baking powder and salt to the bowl and mix with a spoon. Rub the butter into the flour to get a coarse bread crumb texture. Now, add the cold milk and mix with your hand to form a dough. The dough will be sticky. You could roll the dough and cut the biscuits with a scone cutter. I simple rolled the dough into balls of 1.5 inches diameter. Place them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Brush the tops with cream. Bake them in the oven for 15 minutes or till they appear golden brown.

4 comments

    • Hey Disha !

      The dough should be about 2 cms in thickness. Also, its always a good idea to flatten the dough into a disc, clingwrap it and freeze it for atleast half an hour before you roll it out and cut the biscuits. 🙂


Leave a Reply

